Friday, 13 February 2015

Poppy Does Paris- Nicola Doherty

The Blurb
The first instalment in this hilarious, romantic and unputdownable five-part series. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk's I Heart... novels.
Paris. City of love, city of romance. The last place you want to go to on a work trip when you're in the middle of an epic dry spell. But that's where Poppy is headed, along with her colleague Charlie, who's shallow and annoying but very, very good-looking. During a white-wine-fuelled session with her friend Alice, Poppy concocts the perfect plan: work by day, and have some no-strings fun with Charlie by night. Of course, it might prove a little more complicated than that, but it's nothing Poppy can't handle - or is it?

Girls on Tour is an irresistible series of interlinked stories about four friends, ordinary girls who have extraordinary fun in faraway places. Expect the unexpected, the utterly hilarious and unforgettable, on this rollercoaster ride of love, laughs, surprises and sparks. You have a VIP pass to join each girl's adventure, so pack your bags and buckle your seatbelts, because just about anything is possible...

The Review

Poppy Does Paris is book one of the Girls on Tour series and I have to say that since reading it I'm gagging for more!  It's laugh-out-loud funny.  It's snappy.  It's sassy.  But most of all it feels relevant and relatable.

When the book opened with Poppy's dating profile I wasn't sure if it was my kind of thing.  I've been with the same man for sixteen years, heck, online dating wasn't even a thing back when I was single (although I did meet my husband online.  Maybe, for once in my life, I was a pioneer of sorts).  Anyway, it didn't take long for me to be won over by the chatty, conversational writing style and beautifully descriptive writing.  I literally said 'YES!' out loud on a crowded bus when I read the descriptions of the Paris.  And European undergrounds do have that 'almost flowery [smell] with base notes of hot metal.'  I was there.  I didn't just feel like I was there, I am convinced, for the time it took to read the book, I WAS THERE.

Poppy was a likable character, a bit unsure but determined.  And I found the 'who will she choose?' plot fun and engaging.  Publicist Charlie, who seems a bit of a lad or classy winer-and-diner author Jonathan?  They are polar opposites, and for a while I really couldn't decide which team I was on.  But by the end?  Let's just say I had a definite favourite and was delighted with the ending!

The only fault, if you can call it that, is that it was over far too quickly.  I wanted more than this novella length read! 

Nicola Doherty needs to be talked about.  There is absolutely no reason why she can't be one of the leading voices in contemporary women's fiction, and I for one am rooting for her.  And downloading the rest of the series pronto to boot.

Poppy Does Paris is out now, published by Headline Review. 

With thanks to the publisher who provided me with a galley copy of this book in return for my honest opinion.

No comments:

Post a Comment